Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Who Do I Follow?


leading or followingAfter a long week of trials and tribulations I realized that one of my points from last week should be addressed.  I spoke about loving the unlovely and getting involved in their lives. Throughout this week God showed me the challenge of experiencing ungodly behavior in someone’s life and not allowing it to be shown in my life. As a Christian I am called to be a leader in this world and not a follower of the world.

I was taken on a trip through the scriptures early yesterday morning.

Psalm 1:1-3

Psalm 26:5

Proverbs 1:15

Proverbs 4:14-17

Proverbs 22:24-25

Proverbs 24:1-2

 

2 Corinthians 6:14 (NIV)

Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?

All of these scriptures address the same issue: the influence of our friends.  Even as I type I realize what God has shown me. If I am to lead the world from sin to salvation I must lead and not follow them. My personality gives way to easily following examples that are set in front of me. This can be good because it makes new tasks easy to learn but it can be bad if I unconsciously follow bad examples.

Romans 12:2 (NIV)

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

And then Romans 12:2 came along and made me realize that I was unconsciously changing who I was following. I follow easily but what I need to do is to remind myself who to follow. I know I am to follow God and His word. I realize know that I must actively watch my life so that I don’t follow the ways of the world.

I don’t know about you but I just learned something that I needed to know. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Comments on: "Who Do I Follow?" (2)

  1. Romans 12 has been rich to me these last 2 months and then you built on it, giving me even more revelation about following Christ, not the world or others. Thank you for this blog, Kitty. I look forward to sitting and reading and thinking on it. Love to you all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

