Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

A World of Hurt


San Jose - Phoenix 16This week I want to talk about painful things that affect all of us. As I peruse the news this week I see the September 16, 2013 shooting rampage in the US Navy Yard in DC that killed 13 people including the shooter. This morning September 22, 2013 there is news of a mall shooting in Nairobi, Kenya with 25 or more people dead and was still an ongoing issue while I am writing this blog. I think about the national and international events that have caused widespread pain like the airplane bombs to the Twin Towers and the Pentagon and United Airlines flight 93 that went down due to heroism on September 11, 2001. This event caused the death of nearly 3000 people. I think about the September 11, 2012 attack on our embassy in Benghazi that killed our ambassador and others. I remember the October 23, 1983 Beirut barracks bombing that killed 299 United States and French servicemen. And the August 21, 2013 chemical weapons attack around Damascus, Syria.

These are just a few of the events during my lifetime that come to memory as painful for our nation and the world. As I think about these events and more precisely the most recent of these events I wonder who I can trust. I wonder what political leaders are telling the truth. I wonder if leaders of countries around the world are truthful about what weapons they have and what weapons they use. I wonder if I can trust people to be truthful and own up to what they have done or if they will sidestep issues and push blame to others.

This seems to be the way of political entities. It seems to be the way of people. Very few leaders in our world are completely honest about what they do and who they really are. It all boils down to one question. Can I trust in man to fix man’s problems? I believe the answer to this question is a resounding “NO!”

So if I cannot trust in man to fix man’s problems who can I trust in? That answer is easy for me. I trust in the Creator of heaven and earth. I trust in the one who set the stars in the sky and puts politicians in their place. I trust in God Almighty and in His Son Jesus who sacrificed his divinity to become man and sacrificed his earthly life to conquer death, hell and the grave. I trust that God is in control and will work all this out to His glory just as I read in the bible.  These times that we live in are difficult but if God is in control then we can trust that if we follow Him this will all work out the way God wants it to.

Politicians will argue about methods and goals but God knows what needs to happen and will direct those He chooses to be a light in the darkness. He directed Pharaoh to persecute His people so that in the end He would get the glory. (See the book of Exodus especially 5:22-6:1) I believe that God is still in control and will direct the actions in this world to His glory.

This gives me peace to carry on with what God has me doing in this life. So enjoy a peaceful week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "A World of Hurt" (2)

  1. Kitty, these revelations of God being in control and having peace in Him also comfort us. Such a good article dealing with something that touches us all. Love to you and Bob and family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

