Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

What a Pain!


IMG_1960 “What would life be like without pain?”

Pain has been an unwelcome companion of mine for many years. Like everyone else, I experienced my first pain in childhood and have off and on experienced pain throughout my life.  Now there have been times when I have no pain–but those are fewer and farther between the older I get. So I wonder what I can remember about the days without pain.

As I search my memory banks, there aren’t easily accessed memories of the time I had a whole day without pain.  The days that stand out are the ones with pain. I remember as a child when I was trying to learn how to ride a friend’s bicycle. I turned it over and cut my ankle and was not allowed to go into the pool for swimming practice. That stands out because I wasn’t supposed to be riding the bicycle because my mama did not want us to get hurt.

I remember badly spraining my ankle in high school and walking on it, not telling anyone who could have helped me because I was embarrassed and did not want the attention. I waited until I got home and then went to the doctor who offered me crutches but I refused.

I remember months of pain that had stumped the doctors, labor pains, knee, hip and ankle pains that caused the inability to walk. But what I remember the most about pain is that it humbles me. It lets me know that I am human and must depend on others. It reminds me to look up to God for help. Sometimes it takes a lot of pain to remember to look up and seek divine help.

God uses our pain to remind us to be humble. Pain helps us to understand we cannot make it in this life on our own, we need help. Our help comes from God, even if people are the ones who deliver it to us.

Psalm 69:29-33 (NASB)

29 But I am afflicted and in pain;
 May Your salvation, O God, set me securely on high.
30 I will praise the name of God with song
And magnify Him with thanksgiving.
31 And it will please the Lord better than an ox
Or a young bull with horns and hoofs.
32 The humble have seen it and are glad;
You who seek God, let your heart revive.
33 For the Lord hears the needy
And does not despise His who are prisoners.

So press on through your pain and look up to the one who holds you life in His hand. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "What a Pain!" (2)

  1. Yes, Kitty, pain does make us realize our need of Him. I appreciate the things you write so much. Our love and thanks. May God multiply answers and blessings to your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

