Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Age


IMG_2118This week has been eye-opening for me. I have begun to understand the fragility of age and the wonder of age. The fragile feeling came when I had another accident. I slipped off a chair that was supporting me as I cooked. I have used this chair for a while to assist while my ankle heals; it makes things easier in the kitchen. As with anything it can be a bit dangerous. I over reached into a cabinet and the chair moved away and I hit the floor. The good news was that I did not hurt my foot and ankle, the bad news was that my body did not react well to the fall and old injuries to my neck and shoulder re-appeared. I felt old and fragile at the fall. A lot of embarrassment and emotional struggle followed.

I understand that recovery from injuries take longer the older you get. I think the body just doesn’t heal as quickly as in my youth. But now I want to tell you the wonder of age. Today marks the 34th year of my marriage to my wonderful husband. As I look back over the years I can remember the good times and the bad. I can compare the beginning to the middle to the present. We have come a long way sharing life, children, salvation, adventure and grandchildren. I have enjoyed growing older with the man I love.

I found a scripture that explains what God thinks toward His people who have gotten older.

Isaiah 46:4

Amplified Bible (AMP)

Even to your old age I am He, and even to hair white with age will I carry you. I have made, and I will bear; yes, I will carry and will save you.

Speaking in this passage to Israel God shows that He does not abandon those He loves, even when they are old and they should not abandon Him.

There is nothing more comforting than to know that God is still with me even as I age. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Age" (5)

  1. Happy anniversary mom and dad!! Love you!!

    Like

  2. Kathy Cagle said:

    Thank you, Kitty. I take comfort in this for myself and for Paul, but especially for my dad who is alone and ailing. Again, your writing was what I needed at the moment. I know the Holy Spirit inspires you.

    Like

  3. Kathy Cagle said:

    And Happy Anniversary, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

