Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Trust


chris and lara

Trusting her daddy!

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

Proverbs 3:5-6 is the first scripture that I voluntarily memorized when I began my deeper walk with the Lord around 23 years ago. Many times over the years it has helped me overcome circumstances and situations that were stressful.

As I think about stress I realize that it comes upon us when we feel like we are out of control. I read a book years ago called “Out of Control and Loving It”, by Lisa Bevere. The book was about how to let go of control and trust God in all circumstances in your life. Now is the time for me to re-read this book.

I have allowed stress to take over this past week because of changes at work and the uncertainty those changes bring. My humanity wants to be in total control of my circumstances, but that is not how it works. There are two factors in every circumstance that are out of my control. The first and most important is God and His will for me. The second factor is other people and their will for me.

Realistically speaking, I am only in control of my attitude, my actions and my faith in God. When I think that I am in control of everything I forget that God is the One in control. I start taking charge and messing up and it takes a while for me to realize that I have to let go and let God take over. If I trust God’s hand on my life more than anything else then I need to live that way.

In honor of this realization here are some scriptures to help put life back into perspective.

Isaiah 12:2 (NKJV)

Behold, God is my salvation,
I will trust and not be afraid;
‘For Yah, the Lord, is my strength and song;
He also has become my salvation.’”

Psalm 46:1-2 (NKJV)

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear,
Even though the earth be removed,
And though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;

2 Samuel 2:14 (NKJV)

And David said to Gad, “I am in great distress. Please let us fall into the hand of the Lord, for His mercies are great; but do not let me fall into the hand of man.”

In 2 Samuel 2:14 David expresses an amazing trust in God and His mercy. This is where I want to be in my relationship with God. David was given an opportunity to choose his punishment and decided to place his life in the hand of God rather than the hand of man.

Enjoy a stress free week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Trust" (2)

  1. I needed this so much. First of all, because I know to pray for you in these times. Secondly, you concretely described which things I can’t control and what I can control. I needed this tonight. Thank you so much. Saving and sharing this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

