Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Family Bloodlines


grandma kitty and kidsI have been thinking about family bloodlines lately. Probably due to the family reunion that I just enjoyed. My mother was the historian and did genealogies for our family and many other families. She made it her personal goal to get all the birth and death records from every Catholic Church and then other churches in our area to organize them and create family histories for those who wanted them.

I think my mother was very interested in genealogies because she lost her mother at the age of two and ended up being raised by an aunt away from her father and brother. At our family reunion this year most of us got to meet two of our cousins (my mother’s brother’s daughters) that we had only heard of but never personally had the pleasure of meeting.

It was great to be united with family I have never known. I am so happy that my family is making efforts to make sure we stay close to each other even though we live far apart. Natural family bloodlines can bind us together in this life. It is awesome to find our relatives and build those relationships.

There is an eternal bloodline that we can belong to through belief in Jesus Christ. The blood of Jesus washes us white as snow and binds us together eternally. Being grafted into the family of God is an amazing opportunity for salvation.

The day I realized that I am a child of God washed in the blood of the lamb was amazing. That day I found my family had expanded to many people I don’t yet know. I have expanded my personal family by having children.  The family of God can also be expanded by inviting others to join the fellowship of believers. Every time I meet another member of my eternal family it is like meeting more cousins I didn’t know I had. I am thankful for being a member of the family of God and my natural family.

This week’s challenge is to spend some time getting to know or make some new eternal family members. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

