Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


Chris14a-001Over the years I have struggled with feeling intimidated. As I think back I realized that the intimidation I felt was a result of fear inside of me. After my salvation I felt a release from some of this, but it rears its ugly head from time to time. Fear can drive you to do things that you wouldn’t normally do. It can cause you to make bad decisions and lead to frustration.

Angry people cause intimidation to bloom. Sometimes compromise is given to an angry person just to stop their anger. Retail outlets understand this. The customer who makes the most noise usually gets what they want just to get them out of the store. The fear is that they will drive away customers and that is unacceptable.

I tried to intimidate the people who were going to change the oil in my car once. I had previously had an oil change that resulted in broken car parts. My husband firmly warned me to let the shop know that it was unacceptable for them to break a part and not fix it. I went in boldly and warned them and they turned the tables on me and said they would not change the oil because they would not guarantee anything about broken parts and would not fix them. I backed down and told them to change it. In my attempt to intimidate I was intimidated.

At Wal-Mart the other day I was in a line at the deli counter. There were two people in front of me and only one worker in the back. Another woman came up who was angry. She kept making angry comments about how they need more workers. A second worker did come up to help after a few minutes. Then the woman was angry because they did not have the cheese that her granddaughter wanted. She commented that her granddaughter was not going to be happy that she did not get the right type of cheese. This lady seemed to be intimidated by her granddaughter’s food choices. Now I do not know her whole story but the fact that she was worried about the anger of a grandchild suggested to me that she might be intimidated by the child.

It is human nature to try to get what you want, but it is a well-disciplined life that helps you understand the right way to get it. My attempt with the oil change threat was the wrong way to approach the situation. My motive to try to keep my car from being broken was righteous my method was wrong. The angry woman at Wal-Mart should expect good service from the deli counter, but her attitude did not help them speed up.

My reaction to the angry woman was to look down and look away trying to ignore her. I guess I could have tried to soften her attitude with kind words but I chose to ignore what I didn’t want to experience. I just wanted my peace. I was also in a hurry, but there was nothing I could do to speed them up.

Sometimes what you want is not what is best for you. As Christian adults we must understand that in all that we do we must have the best interests of those around us as our motive for life. Jesus spent His time on this earth with mankind’s best interest in mind. He gave up his physical life so that others could live eternally. I guess if he could give up so much for me, I can give up my fear of others to do the best that I can for them.

Talking about giving all the glory to God is just talk until you actually do something in your life that you know will give God glory. This week I have come to understand that walking boldly in what I know is true and righteous brings glory to God. This means that I should boldly, with kindness and compassion meet an angry person, not allowing their anger and frustration to frustrate and anger me because I serve a God who cares about that person. I must do my best, no matter how small, to help that person overcome their issue. Maybe a smile or a kind word can be just the thing to help someone during their frustration.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

 

Comments on: "Intimidation and God’s Glory" (4)

  1. Hi Kitty. Interesting topic. It reminded me of an experience I had once. I was standing in line at the grocery store. It was a long line. This store had a policy that was 3’s a crowd, which means that if there were more than 3 people in line they would call another checker in. I was about 6th in line. The lady in front of me was complaining loudly. She turned to me to complain. I listened to her for a bit, then finally I said, “Lady, my mom is at home dying of cancer. What she would give to be here, standing in line… at least me and you are still in the game.” I say, don’t sweat the small stuff. It’s all just life.

    Like

  2. A sobering message. Thank you, Kitty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

