Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

God’s Blessing


IMG_1625

While doing my daily bible reading I came across the account of Balaam. Balak saw that the children of Israel were coming toward his land and he did not know what to do so he sent for Balaam. He requested that Balaam curse the Israelites. In Numbers 22:6 Balak says “Therefore please come at once, curse this people for me, for they are too mighty for me. Perhaps I shall be able to defeat them and drive them out of the land, for I know that he whom you bless is blessed, and he whom you curse is cursed.” (NKJV)

From Balak’s perspective whatever Balaam says happens. Numbers 22:38 Balaam says to Balak “’Look, I have come to you! Now, have I any power at all to say anything? The word that God puts in my mouth, that I must speak.” (NKJV) This verse confirms that it is not Balaam’s words that have power, but the words that God puts into his mouth.

Balak did not believe in God, he believed in Balaam. After Balaam came to him he did everything that Balaam told him to do hoping this would cause Balaam to curse Israel. But Balaam stayed strong and insisted that it was God’s words not his that had the power. Balak learned a lesson, because every time Balak asked Balaam to curse Israel, Balaam added another blessing to Israel.

As I contemplated this situation I realized that it had practical application in my life. I have experienced some success at my job lately and I realize that the success is not because I am the most amazing person who does everything right. It is because I am blessed by God and He has given me the grace to succeed. I am blessed and not cursed.

When I read the chapters before and after this account of Balaam and Balak I saw Israel sinning and causing God grief, but God still blessed them. God was dealing internally with Israel, punishing their evil and directing their steps. He was also dealing externally with them by blessing them in front of their enemies. He protected them.

In Numbers 22: 12 we can see what happened the first time Balaam was asked to curse Israel.  “And God said to Balaam, ‘You shall not go with them; you shall not curse the people, for they are blessed.’” (NKJV)

That verse tells me that if I am blessed by God, I am always blessed. Israel had been blessed by God. He would not allow the enemy to curse what He had blessed. I get excited when I realize that God’s blessing is forever. If I understand this correctly God will not allow the enemy of our souls to take away His blessing. This doesn’t mean that we won’t go through things because of our humanity and disobedience.  Israel was going through plagues and all kind of stuff because of disobedience, but God would not allow the enemy to put a curse on them.

The real key is to remember that the blessing comes from God and the abilities that He gave me. It is not my strength but His. Join me this week in spending some time thanking God for what He has done, and realizing that God is the creator of all things and the one who blesses and curses.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "God’s Blessing" (1)

  1. […] God’s Blessing (kittypalmer.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

