Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


Lucas thinking

Lucas thinking

Mark 14:72

….And when he thought about it, he wept. (NKJV)

When I read this in my daily bible reading this morning it made me stop. I know over the years I have read this verse many times, but today I stopped and thought about it.

I began to ponder how many times I have done things without really thinking. I just put myself on automatic and went forward. Then later I begin to think about my day and I realize what I have done. Now, sometimes it is good and sometimes it is bad and sometimes it is neutral.

There have been times in my life when I have known that stopping and thinking about something would cause me great pain, so I just put it in the back of my mind and move forward. And there have been times when I have spent all my time thinking about who has left or what is gone and could not move forward.

In the verse above Peter had made declarations to Jesus that He would not deny Him. But Jesus told him what would really happen. Peter, filled with determination, put himself on autopilot and did what came natural. He denied Jesus. Then “when he thought about it, he wept.”

There is something to be said about taking time to think about what we have done. Because Peter stopped and thought about what he had done he was able to repent and experience real salvation from sin. If you read the book of Acts you find Peter being restored to Jesus and leading others. How could someone who denied the One he knew ever come back and be restored? He had to recognize what he had done wrong and repent. The weeping was the beginning of his repentance.

1 John 1:9

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (NKJV)

Peter did his part by repenting and Jesus forgave and restored Peter to his place in the kingdom of God.

Today I celebrate the forgiveness of God that came through the suffering, death and resurrection of Jesus. His sacrifice makes our sin more grievous. Join me today to “think about” and repent from those things that are selfish to open the path to forgiveness and restoration.

Leave a Reply

