Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

New Arrival


IMG_1854

I had a busy week.  Monday was normal, Tuesday was normal until around 6:30 pm when my daughter called and said her water broke and she was headed to the hospital. My brain turned upside down and I began to prepare myself to see a new grandson. Her due date was the 11th but Tuesday was the 5th. That is not too unusual, considering that I had all my kids about 10 days before they were due.

I wasn’t quite home so I continued my trip. I called my husband and let him know the news. He completed fixing supper and we ate. After supper we looked up the route to her hospital, packed up the camera and headed to the hospital. We both knew this could take all night, but it was her first baby so we wanted to be there.

We arrived just as her husband was getting ready to go get supper, perfect timing. We had opportunity to sit and talk to her while we watched the monitor which showed she was having contractions. I remembered back to my labor pains and the excitement of getting to see the new baby. She was a trooper, trying to not show the pain, but it was visible on her face. I could see the effort to maintain composure and understood. In the middle of it all she got a phone call. She did not recognize the number and handed her husband the phone. He answered and then looked at her and said, “It’s Chris.” My son had heard from his wife that she was at the hospital and he called from the other side of the world. We all miss Chris because of the distance that comes when you are on active duty fighting for your country. That was an amazing God moment in the midst of this exciting day.

But wait—-There is more. You see 30 years ago I was in labor on February 6th about to give birth to my second child. I had previously had a c-section and was going to try to have a natural birth with my second child. My water broke early in the evening—much like my daughter.  We went to the hospital and I wasn’t making progress so they called the doctor and the decision was made to have a c-section. I requested that they wait until midnight so my son could be born on his Grandpa’s birthday. But the doctor got in a hurry and he was born at 11:45 pm. My daughter in law told me that my son Chris said the only thing he wanted for his birthday was to have his nephew born that day. So when Chris called he knew that chances were he would have his birthday wish.

We stayed at the hospital until a little after midnight and then both sets a grandparents decided to make the long trek home and return when things had progressed further. I guess we fell asleep around 1:30 and at 5:30 the phone rang. “It’s a go, she is ready to deliver. They have called the doctor.” I said “What” and my son in law repeated. I tried to get up, but at my age 4 hours of sleep are just not enough. Finally my husband told me to get into the shower, so I obediently got up and showered.

We were about 45 minutes away from the hospital when I got a text message with a picture of baby “Jack”. We continued through the rush hour traffic to get to the hospital. We managed to arrive just in time to be let into her room and I got to hold him for the first time. God answered all my prayers. He is healthy, she did not have to have a c-section and her labor was not extremely long.

Everyone is doing well. I am thanking God for all he has done to bring a new life into this world.

Comments on: "New Arrival" (1)

  1. Praise God! And Congratulations! for your little “Jack”. How wonderful! You look so happy in the picture. We loved the story of Chris’s birthday present. Sooo good!

    May God bless you all with continued health and blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

