Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

2012


My son with every emotion possible.

My son with every emotion possible.

As 2012 comes to an end I think back over the year. My year has been one of poverty and relative prosperity, pain and healing, joy and sorrow, destruction and rebuilding, fear and faith, anxious anticipation and peaceful resolve to go on. I have experienced nearly every emotion imaginable this year. I cannot say that about every year of my life. This past year has been one of being on the edge of good and bad.

2012 began with little to no income in our home, but an expectation of change. After extreme conditions in 2011 caused us to sell what we could of our possessions to stay above water we put our house on the market. The new year brought hope for jobs even if we had to move to make a living. We found out during this time that we had family that cared so much for us they were willing to offer us a place to live.

Renewed in our faith, but still suffering from the fear that comes from not knowing how to get income we moved forward. Then there was a glimmer of hope as I was able to get a part-time job. I pushed as much as I could and waited until a full-time job came open. Blessed with favor at work, I now have a full-time job I enjoy, helping others every day and we are able to pay our bills. My husband’s business is beginning to pick up and we are very thankful for that.

I experienced my first injury from a car accident. My healing is a blessing.  I also experienced healing from a frozen shoulder due to a rotator cuff tear thanks to a Dr. who had experienced the same thing and knew just what painful exercises to have me do. The healing process was very painful, but now I have the full range of motion in my arm.

We have had happy times with my daughter expecting her first child and sad times with my son being sent into a war zone again. My daughter graduating with her master’s degree brought more happiness and my niece suffering from a distressing illness brought sorrow and concern.

Through it all there has been one thing that has never changed. That is the Word of God. As I read yesterday:

Psalm 147:10-11 (NKJV)

He does not delight in the strength of the horse;

He takes no pleasure in the legs of a man.

The Lord takes pleasure in those who fear Him,

In those who hope in His mercy.

I realized that last year I experienced life at its fullest. But if I focus on the experiences I will miss the point, because through it all the one thing that matters is that I fear the Lord and hope in His mercy.

God doesn’t keep track of all of my events. He tracks my response to those events. He tracks my attitudes not my emotions. He watches my perspective. If my life shows a perspective of honoring Him every day with my words and deeds and hoping in His mercy for my sins it pleases God.

As I look over the year I ponder on my attitude and my perspective. It is difficult to keep a proper Godly perspective when you do not know where your next dollar will come from. I pray today that God would show you and me mercy for our failures and smile on us because we fear His might.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

