Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Freedom and Forgiveness


My daughter

There are many important events in our lives but some are so pivotal that they change us forever. When I was a child, my mother set up a birthday party for me in the park. It was to be a fun time for me and my friends. At the end of the party we were to call my mom to come get us. My sister wanted to walk over to the phone to call and leave me by myself with the presents and cake, but I didn’t want to do that. So I went with her to the phone—this was way before cell phones.

When we returned to the pavilion someone had come by and destroyed the cake and stole or destroyed the presents. I was devastated. I got in trouble for leaving the stuff unattended and never wanted another birthday party. My great day was ruined.

I thought I knew who might have done this but it was never confirmed. I unconsciously held this event in my heart with unforgiveness. I forgot the event over the years until one day.

But let me back up a little. In church, I remember praying the “Our Father”, which is Matthew 6:9-13, and I realized that if I was not forgiving those who destroyed my party God wouldn’t forgive me. I had held this inside for many years—not thinking about it often but not giving it up.

Fast forward many years–someone my husband worked with invited us to a church picnic one Sunday and we went. We became good friends with this man and his family. One day on the road to my salvation he came up to me out of the blue and apologized for destroying my birthday party. I hadn’t thought of this event for years. Now out of nowhere a person I had not suspected of doing this devastating crime against my childhood was confessing that he was one of the people who had destroyed my day. I was floored and confused. Why would he tell me this now? I had watched his life for a while and he certainly did not seem to be a mean person. He told me God had changed his life.

This event changed my life. His compassion toward me and his desire to come clean helped me to walk toward victory in my life. It may seem to be a small thing, but that small thing led me on the road to my salvation and to freedom.

Remember every little thing you do in the name of the Lord affects those around you. So when you hear that small still voice telling you to confess and come clean do it–not just for you but for the one you hurt. Set yourself free and by doing so you will set someone else free too.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Freedom and Forgiveness" (2)

  1. Wow. That was so good, and profound timing, I just finished listening to a sermon on the Lord’s Prayer and forgiveness. Wow. I think God is telling me something! And I have never heard that story mom!!!! 😦

    Ps. Thanks for adding awesome birthday pic!

    Like

  2. Mary Grace said:

    Beautiful

    Like

Leave a Reply

