Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

No Pain–No Gain


Sometimes when I hurt myself I will ignore the pain and continue with what I am doing. This is not always the best thing to do. Recently I have realized that adapting to the pain has caused me more harm than good. I have lost the ability to raise my arm because of a torn rotator cuff. My Doctor informed me that not using the arm correctly because of the tear has caused adhesions which restrict my arm movement. So now I get to endure painful exercises to regain movement, while waiting for the tear to heal.

This is literally a no pain no gain situation. If I do what does not hurt, I lose mobility. So I have to adapt to more pain to gain mobility. Why does it have to hurt to build strong muscles? A few years back I had another physical issue that caused great pain while walking. The only way to regain the ability to walk without pain was to do regular exercises and be careful with body movements. Running, going down water slides or anything that jerks the body around can cause dislocation of my SI joint and thus make it hard to walk.

Pain has its part in my life. If I had never experienced pain I would not appreciate the times without it as much. So I gain a different perspective because of what I experience. This rings true with every area of my life. If I had never heard of God I would have never known where the majestic beauty of this life has come from. If I had never known there was such a thing as sin I would never have experienced salvation from it.

Until I experienced unconditional love I did not know what I was missing and how conditional my experience had been. This unconditional love helps me to make it through the times of pain. I do not embrace the pain as something I have to go through to learn, instead I embrace the One who created me despite going through the pain. It is all a matter of perspective. I learn through the process and hold on for the result.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "No Pain–No Gain" (2)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    I was surprised you have experienced so much physical pain. I am so sorry. But then you remind us of how it reminds you of God’s unconditional love and embracing Him who created you and how you love Him in spite of that pain. Paul and I read it together and related so much to your words. And amazing! We know the author personally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

