Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Multi-tasking or Focus


Multi-tasking at a young age!

As I drove home the other night, traffic was flowing pretty well, I had the radio on and I was thinking about work. Suddenly I realized that I was multi-tasking without even knowing it. My eyes were on the road, my mouth was singing to the music on the radio but my mind was focused my day at work.

I remember in the interview for my job how they stressed that I must multi-task to do the job well. I have really never thought I was good at multi-tasking but apparently I must be. But there is a problem that I see with this ability and that is losing focus.

Each one of the parts of the human body has tasks that they alone can accomplish. And when the body is working together there is a real flow. Each body part doing their thing all working toward the common goal is like a symphony.

But in our society multi-tasking is actually not having all the parts working together, it is having your hands do one thing while your mind does another thing while you mouth is speaking something completely different. It is the ability to not finish one thing before you start another, but be able by the end of the day to complete them all. It creates a sort of chaos that can add stress to your life.

When I read my bible in the mornings, sometimes I will find that my eyes are reading but my mind is still focused on what I was dreaming before I woke up—or what I am about to do during the day. I accomplish less this way because my mind is distracted from the one thing that can renew it, God’s word. Then sometimes I find myself in prayer just repeating words not even knowing what I am saying because I am on a schedule. Between multi-tasking and distractions it is a wonder I ever accomplish anything.

Maybe you don’t have this trouble in your life. Maybe your life is great and you can stay focused on what really matters all day long. If so, I envy you. If not, maybe we could work together to find a middle ground where we can focus on one important thing—our relationship with our heavenly Father and multi-task those worldly things we do to make a living.

It is like living two separate lives, but God is worthy of our attention. I have found the perfect scripture for this. Jesus and his disciples were traveling when this happened.

Luke 10: 38 to 42 (NASB)

Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word. But Martha was distracted with all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.”  But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

Once again I am amazed at my Father in heaven. I see Martha busy multi-tasking to finish preparing the food and the table and everything else that goes along with having company. And there is Mary focused on the One who gives life. I guess it is time to slow down and focus on the One who gives life.

I am going to work harder on my focus this week, will you join me? Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Multi-tasking or Focus" (2)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    I am rereading this and keeping it closes. So many of us need this. Thank you, Kitty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

