Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Fear or Faith?


 

Walking by faith–with help!

News of a family member being sent back into a war zone has really messed with my emotions this week. I found myself gripped with fear. The worst that could happen was stuck in my mind. I tried to think of something else and that worked until someone asked me how I was doing. A simple bit of concern from a caring person and once again I broke down. I cried unable to hold back the flood of emotion that I thought was under control.

That was the problem. I was trying to control the emotion instead of working through it. I was also putting my faith in the worst that could happen believing and grieving a possibility instead of believing and trusting that God is in control.

I spent a day or so praying, grieving and crying to get it out of my system. And I found direction in a devotional book which has a verse a day addressing fear. The book is “Don’t Be Afraid” by Polly Harder. Did you know that there are three hundred and sixty-five verses in the bible that deal with fear?

Now it is time to move on. It is time to be strong in the Lord and the power of His might. Ok I am going to live this life to its fullest and daily lift up those who are in harm’s way. I must fight a prayer battle for their protection. By battling in prayer I know I am doing all that I can do to make a difference. I must not waiver from my faith because I am not in control—God is.

No matter what you are facing today remember there is One who is stronger than you who can handle the situation. There is One who loved you first.

1 John 4:19 “We love Him, because He first loved us.” (KJV)

Knowing that the Creator of the universe loves me and my family, calms my fears and restores my faith. I walk by faith, each step by faith. Will you join me?

 

Comments on: "Fear or Faith?" (2)

  1. O, thank you so much for this insight! You took me with you to your fear–fear for our loved ones’ wellbeing. Then you showed us how you escaped.

    Like

Leave a Reply

