Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


forBEARance (Ha! Ha!)

All week long I have been studying and familiarizing myself with many loan related terms. Seeking a little solitude on Saturday morning at the laundry-mat I began to read my Bible. My Old Testament reading went great reading about King David, then I turned to the New Testament in Romans chapter 2. I made it to the fourth verse and stopped. I looked up and looked around then looked back down. Maybe I hadn’t read it right. No it was there on the page right in front of me. What was that loan term doing in my Bible? I never really noticed it there before, why did it have to haunt me today–my day off?

Romans 2:3-4  And do you think this, O man, you who judge those practicing such things, and doing the same, that you will escape the judgment of God?  Or do you despise the riches of His goodness, forbearance, and longsuffering, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance? (NKJV)

Of course you know this meant I had to do some research. This word could not just be a mortgage term for a payment forbearance to allow the homeowner to get their finances in order. It had to have a broader meaning. I got to my trusty computer later in the day and found that to forbear is to refrain from the enforcement of something. The “light bulb” turned on and I understood better what I had read.

Romans 2:3-4 is referring to God refraining Himself from immediate judgment on those who judge. As I began to ponder forbearance I realized that God spent a lot of years forbearing our just punishment for sin. He held back. God is patient with us. God’s mercy is never ending. He held back His judgment. Instead of punishing us He sent His Son to die on the cross to pay the price for sins. Once we accept the sacrifice of His Son, Jesus, we automatically take advantage of the forbearance that God granted mankind.

Every day I am amazed how God will take a simple thing like the word “forbearance” and teach me a lesson about His Kingdom. I am honored to share these amazing moments with you in this blog. Next week when I publish I will be celebrating one full year of this blog. Thank you for reading. I will be back next week with more. Enjoy your week.

Leave a Reply

