Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

He’s Watching You


It amazes me how inspiration comes at the most unexpected times. After a long week of study and working I was spending my Saturday listening to country music while I cleaned the house. As I relaxed and let my brain rest for a while,  a song came on that I really like: “Watching You” by Rodney Atkins. Listening to the lyrics I began to focus on the chorus where his four-year old son tells him:

‘He said, “I’ve been watching you, dad ain’t that cool?
I’m your buckaroo, I wanna be like you.
And eat all my food and grow as tall as you are.
We got cowboy boots and camo pants
Yeah, we’re just alike, hey, ain’t we dad?
I want to do everything you do.
So I’ve been watching you.”’

I heard a gentle voice say, “I’ve been watching you!” and I felt a rush of comfort and confidence that I have been missing. In the song the little boy is watching his dad and repeating the good and bad that his dad does. In my heart I realized that everyone I come in contact with is watching me. But more importantly my Father in Heaven is watching me. He is right there with me every moment of every day. He is there when I mess up and there when I do well.

As I watch Jesus to become more like Him, just like the little boy, my Father in heaven swells with a jealous love for me. And in a quiet moment lets me know He is watching. He is not watching to write down what I do wrong. He is watching to see His glory in the earth. He is watching His creation fulfill its purpose.

He’s watching you too. I see a picture in my head of God looking down with a smile on His face, enjoying watching His children walk in His ways. Enjoy your week and remember that God is watching you with a smile on His face enjoying your life as you live it.

Comments on: "He’s Watching You" (1)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    I REALLY needed this! Just to be reminded when I feel like I am not enough is evidence that God is watching me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

