Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Why Worry?


Proverbs 3:6

Proverbs 3:6 (Photo credit: EvelynGiggles)

This week has been very busy for me with work, study and worry. Working full-time and studying material for my new position has challenged me. So I really did not need anything extra, but somehow I managed to fit some unnecessary worry into my schedule. Isn’t it amazing how we can find time to be distracted from our goals by the most upsetting thoughts?

Have you ever worried about something so much that it took away a whole night’s sleep? I have and it was not fun. It ruins the night and the next day. Even after the worry has subsided and been proven to be a false problem it has taken it’s toll. Sleep has been lost that will never be gotten back. Days have been ruined for no good reason. Important study time lost, productivity ruined and blood pressure rose for nothing.

But in the midst of the storm one scripture kept coming back. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path.” (My memory of Proverbs 3:5-6).

When I was at my worst this week a friend commented on my blog from last week. I felt it was an encouragement from God. Then there was more encouragement in an email from the same friend and her husband. Then an email arrived from a ministry that spoke directly to my heart. I still had my worry, but I was on my way out of it. I shared with a co-worker my horrible night and she pointed to the wall where there was a painting with Proverbs 3:6 as the caption. I told her that had been my scripture all through the worry.

I talked a few weeks ago about being in the eye of a hurricane. Well for a while this week I stepped into the storm instead of staying in the center. I know the hurricane is still raging around in my head. I pray that this week I can stay in the center and not get distracted by unnecessary trips into the storm.

Join me this week in walking in the center with our eyes on Jesus. I’ll be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Why Worry?" (1)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    Paul and I are sitting here together reading your article on worry. Yep, we relate and your message seems to be just for us–again! We love you all. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

