Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


I walked into my bedroom on a cloudy day with the lights out. My eyes were adjusting to the darkness when I spied a shadow of something in front of my mirror. I walked slowly and stared down at the floor to see what this was.  I could barely make out two sides of an object. I knew there had to be more but I couldn’t see what it was. I walked as far away from it as I could, trying not to get another bruise from bad navigation skills. As I reached the bathroom, I switched on the light. My step stool was the one lurking in the darkness. I didn’t remember putting it there, but I must have. The mystery was solved and I emerged unharmed. Physical darkness is difficult to navigate but we can switch on a light and it is easier to get around.

A few years back I remember every day making my way through a seemingly endless routine of getting up and going to my computer to see what everyone was saying on Facebook. I posted small cries for attention and help sometimes hourly hoping someone would notice and say a kind word. Occasionally there were uplifting responses but mostly there was nothing because my friends had lives to live.

I on the other hand felt empty, tossed aside and forgotten. There seemed no end to my misery. I thought I had lost my identity….. And I had. I didn’t realize that depressed darkness had taken over my life. I thought I was where God had put me and my job was to adjust to it so I could see a little. But letting my spiritual eyes adjust to the darkness was not the answer. I kept running into walls and hurting myself. I was wrapped up in self-pity and needed to wake up and realize God had not left me. I chose to walk into the darkness where unknown things were lurking because it felt familiar and somehow safe. Slowly over time God led me out of the darkness and into His light. It didn’t happen over night. It was a series of light flashes from His word, encouragement from those around me and decisions made in my heart to once again walk in the light of His love no matter how I looked.

The world we live in is full of darkness.  I decided to live in the darkness because I feared the light would show all of my failings.  I reached a point where I had to answer this question. How could I be the light of the world if I was hiding that light from the world?

Psalm 119:105  Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. (NIV)

Part of my answer was in Psalm 119:105. To keep the light shining in my life I had to stay in God’s word. I know God’s word shinned the light in my heart to lift me out of my darkness.

2 Samuel 22:26-30

“To the faithful you show yourself faithful,
to the blameless you show yourself blameless,
to the pure you show yourself pure,
but to the devious you show yourself shrewd.
You save the humble,
but your eyes are on the haughty to bring them low.
You, Lord, are my lamp; 
the Lord turns my darkness into light.
With your help I can advance against a troop;
with my God I can scale a wall. (NIV)

David says the God is the lamp that turns darkness into light. The only way to stop stumbling in the darkness was bringing light to the darkness. Whether it is a dark room or it is the darkness of a soul that needs the illumination of God’s word, light is the answer.

The revelation of God’s love dispels the darkness. Knowing that God is light and salvation gives us courage to let light shine in the darkness. When the light shines the darkness flees. And when the darkness flees people are drawn to the light. Living in the darkness of our souls will not bring anyone to the light it will just cause us to stumble in the darkness and get hurt by everything we bump into. When we step out of the darkness and into His marvelous light we become the light of the world by reflecting His glory and people will be drawn to us.

Live in the light and God will get the glory. Shine through until next week when I come back with more.

Comments on: "Lurking in the Dark Shadows" (4)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    You did it again, Kitty: hit me just where I am.

    Like

  2. Kathy Cagle said:

    With temporary physical problems, I feel my self walking in darkness. You reminded me of the light of His Word.

    Such good illustrations! I haven’t heard a better or more timely message. I know it came to you from the Holy Spirit. (Sure wish I had been there for you on FB or email though at your rough time.)

    Love, Kathy

    Like

    • Kathy you have always been my biggest encouragement, you and Paul are the greatest. I am glad the posting helped you. I pray God’s blessings on you and healing in your body. Love you guys.

      Like

  3. JACQUIE said:

    A good word to remember. It’s so hard to know we are in the darkness till there is light. I’m gla you are out of the darkness now and shining brightly again! Well written mom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

