Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


John F. Kennedy quotation

John F. Kennedy quotation (Photo credit: L.C.Nøttaasen)

I am always amazed at people who make profound statements. There are volumes of books filled with wonderful quotes. Someday I would like to be the source of one of those statements. In movies you see some wise person suddenly, in just the right place quote a very profound thought. It makes all the people around look at them with awe and wonder. People in the audience whisper to each other how they want to remember that. And it becomes a tag line for the movie.

Every day we see articles about what this politician said and what that politician said. There are groups who do nothing but quote politicians for better or for worse, depending on who they are quoting. There are people who get certain “talking points” and speak them everywhere they go. They are repeating from memory what someone else has told them is the truth. They are arguing for a view-point that they think they believe in, but don’t have their own words to express because they don’t really know enough about it. When it comes to politics this seems to be a trap that most people get stuck in.

As much fun as it would be to have a famous quote of my own, I would rather be remembered for how I lived. Words are great and inspiring but “actions speak louder than words”.  I don’t know who first made that profound statement, but I believe it.

How many people can tell you that Martin Luther King Jr. said, “I have a dream…”, or John F. Kennedy said, “…Ask not what your country can do for you–ask what you can do for your country.” Or Jesus “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,”?(Matthew 5:43-44 NIV)

Quoting someone else’s great statement is easy, but living the life behind the statement is the challenge. As Christians we are expected to live what we believe. On judgment day we will be standing alone before the God’s throne and there won’t be any talking points or great quotes that will be required of us.

Day by day I am learning the importance of putting into action all the scriptures I have memorized. As I begin to act on what I believe I find my life changing. I am being stretched and strengthened. I am seeing prayers answered and changes deep within me. I choose to live what I believe and not just quote. Would you join me?

Enjoy your week. I’ll be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Are You Quoting or Living?" (4)

  1. Excellent points. You’re right – “living the life behind the statement is the challenge.” Action is what it’s all about. Nice post.

    Like

  2. Compulsive Writer said:

    Wonderful post! I think the same sort of things when I see quotes on facebook! Some people quote all the time but are they living what the are quoting? Do they believe what they quote?
    🙂

    Like

    • If we could all live what we say and say what we live life would be easier because there would be no question of where someone stands on an issue.Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

