Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

2012 Hope for a New Year


2011 made me feel like this!

Happy New Year!!! I guess it is time to look back on the old year and forward to the new. We humans tend to do that at this time of year. 2011 was a challenge for me.  My husband and I either found ourselves very busy or completely without work.  We ended the year saying good-bye to the leased space for our business. We are happy to be out of the lease payment, but have mixed emotions on being out of the shop.

2012 has hope and promise. Most new years are like that. We always think that something special happens at midnight December 31 to help us change course. In reality it is just another night like all the rest, the only difference is in our calendar. I don’t have a problem with looking at the 2012 with expectations; it just strikes me as odd that December 31 midnight is different from all the rest.

2011 was full of an endless stream of ideas for me. I wrote some short stories, started a blog and made a list of more stories to write. Writing stories seems fairly easy. It is getting them published and sold that is difficult.

In 2011 the most important thing that happened, happened every day. I kept my faith. I never let it waiver too far. I weathered the storms, and even though I got wet I did not drown. That is a testimony to the faithfulness of God. He is holding me in His hand and as long as I do not walk away, I am under his protection.

I may have come through this year a little bruised and beat up, but I came through. We learn through our battle wounds. I realized that though I am far from most of my family, they all care deeply for me. I also came out of this year knowing that there are many people in my area that care. They care for those they don’t know, because God has put it in their hearts. I have met some wonderful people in my community and in my church. Yes, I finally have a church to call “my” church. In the hardest times, it is good to have a place where people care and love me the way I am.

January 1, 2012 holds the promise of a new year. So let’s begin again in 2012. Let’s throw off last year’s mistakes, missteps and troubles and start over.  Join me by reviewing your mistakes, missteps and troubles of 2011. Write them down and when you have looked them over, wad up the paper and throw it away. Then take out a fresh sheet of paper and realize that you are starting a new story. Enjoy the story as you write it.

Have a Happy New Year! I’ll be back next week!

Comments on: "2012 Hope for a New Year" (4)

  1. Well said mom! You have made it through a very difficult year, and you are stronger because of it! We love you and dad!

    Like

  2. Thanks Jacquie. It is great to have children who care.

    Like

  3. Kathy Cagle said:

    You truly kept the faith! And God blessed you with sooo much creativity! I love to read what you write. You are a great encouragement to Paul and I. And greater things are ahead for you and for your family.

    Like

    • Thanks Kathy. I feel more inspired every time I read one of your comments. I will accept the greater things that are ahead. Praise God for His faithfulness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

