Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Children Hold the Key


Mark 10:13-16

People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them. (NIV)

Jesus came for everyone. Even though these children were the least important to the disciples they were the most important to Jesus because He knew they held the key to the Kingdom of God.

What is this key? Well to find the key we must look at children. Children have simple minds, easily entertained, easily taught, and easily trained. A cherished child trained at a young age in loving obedience will hold the key to the kingdom.

God desires worship from those who follow Him. Children easily worship. Children easily follow. Children are quick to obey when they feel loved. These are the keys to childlike faith.

A few years back I experienced a childlike faith episode. I woke up one morning with a certain person on my mind. I got up and told my husband that I needed to go see this person right away. I went to their house and found devastation. In an effort to get this person to change their life the spouse had walked out that morning. When I got to the house I realized that I did not know what to do, so I did what I know. I cleaned the kitchen of the house and let the person tell me their problems. I told them that God had sent me. Being questioned again on who had sent me, I once again said it was God. I prayed, “God I wish I knew what more to say or do.” As I left and returned home I realized that I hadn’t even brushed my hair before leaving my house. I had walked out in childlike faith to bring comfort to someone who desperately needed to know that God had heard their cry for help.

Childlike faith doesn’t question, it just believes and obeys. We can walk in it or we can walk out of it with our reasoning mind. To check if you have childlike faith, ask these questions:

Do I easily worship my Creator God?

Do I easily follow God’s commands?

Do I easily obey the Father in Heaven who loves me?

If the answer to any of these is “no” then you may not have childlike faith. God is not in charge of our faith, we are. My challenge is to get back to that childlike faith and throw out the questioning which distracts me from obedience to the love of God. Will you join me this week in becoming childlike in your faith?

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Children Hold the Key" (4)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    Kitty, I was so blessed to read this and see these pictures of your grandchildren. They are adorable.

    I am teaching a class at CFN Poland about faith. And then tomorrow I was asked to share on faith 2 times at small meetings. Your perspective is my missing link. I hope it is alright to share these points. I will tell that you wrote it. It was so timely and we all need to be reminded of the faith of a little child.

    We love you, Kitty and Bob. Kathy and Paul

    Like

  2. […] Children Hold the Key (kittypalmer.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. […] Children Hold the Key (kittypalmer.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterStumbleUponRedditLinkedInFacebookDiggPrintEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

