Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Steps to Healing part 2


Doctor and Nurse Bears

Image by Enokson via Flickr

Last week I told part of my story of physical healing. Remember the pain that started this whole trek, it returned after the bloated ovary had been surgically removed. I began to reprocess the information from all the doctors, remembering how some of the doctors had said the pain was not caused by the cyst. “Oh God, will this ever end?” was my frustrated cry.

Then a new problem arose, just as I was feeling a little better. I woke up in the middle of the night with discomfort and then excruciating pain. The pain was not even close to the area of the surgery. I prayed and hoped it would go away, but it did not. I woke Bob (my husband) for help.

There was nothing anyone could do as I stood, paced around and fell to the ground repeatedly with the indescribable pain. I sat in the bathroom for a while and prayed: “Lord what is this pain?” The answer came quickly, “It is a kidney stone.” Having heard stones were extremely painful I immediately believed.

After what seemed like forever we decided to wake my daughter (a nursing student at the time) to see if she would know how to relieve the pain. She woke up and suggested we go to the emergency room. So off we went. After a long wait we got a room and a CT scan which confirmed 2 kidney stones.  The nurse came in and asked if I knew that I had diverticulosis. Being unaware of this, I asked what it was. She then explained the condition and symptoms. I immediately knew what had caused my earlier pain that lead to the discovery of the ovarian tumor.

When they found the tumor, we did not pursue the cause of my pain because even with health insurance, we could not afford the diagnostic tests. The kidney stones, turned out to be a blessing.  Unlike the other diagnostic tests the CT scan for the kidney stone was mostly covered by my insurance. (God cares about our finances too.)

The stones seemed to have dissolved themselves over some time and passed fairly easily as gravel. The pain from the kidney stones directed me to information I needed for treating my original pain. I was able to restructure my diet and add certain supplements that have helped me be pain-free most of the time.

I see God’s providence and guiding in this process. I see His hand directing my steps to healing. Even though this time in my life was very painful, it was a productive part of the healing process. Sometimes healing comes with understanding how to control our diet, stress and other elements in our lives.

Psalm 37:23-26 (NASB)

23 The steps of a man are established by the LORD,
And He delights in his way.
24 When he falls, he will not be hurled headlong,
Because the LORD is the One who holds his hand.
25 I have been young and now I am old,
Yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
Or his descendants begging bread.
26 All day long he is gracious and lends,
And his descendants are a blessing.

Enjoy your week. I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Steps to Healing part 2" (2)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    It is so good to be reminded of God’s faithfulness by such stories. Thank you, Kitty. Love your writings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

