Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Smile


I remember right after my salvation in 1990 I walked around with the biggest smile on my face. It caused quite a stir in my small community. You see smiles weren’t my thing. In childhood I would always joke and seem happy just to make life bearable. As a cynical teenager the jokes got crude and most smiles came at the expense of someone else. My salvation brought something to the inside of me that was missing. I felt real love from God. It was this genuine love that changed my look. I went from being “down with a frown” to being “in with a grin”.

The day after my acceptance of God’s love, I was at work with my big smile showing. There was a very outspoken and opinionated woman with colorful language, whose office I had to frequent in my job. When she saw me walk into her office with a smile on my face there was an immediate interrogation. She had to know why I was smiling. Being very new to the understanding of my salvation and knowing her demeanor I cautiously gave her an answer. She quickly became disinterested and let me go.

From that point on I became very cautious of where I took my smile. This of course was the wrong thing to do.  When I smile I am Sharing My Inner Love Externally.

My smile has come and gone over the years and that is a shame. Our face is like our business card.  People look over and keep the colorful and bright ones, but plain letters on a card they use as a bookmark or make a shopping list on and then throw it away. If there is a frown on your face you are the plain business card, but your smile is the card with all the colors, inviting conversation.

Nehemiah 8:10b “Do not sorrow, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (NKJV)

Real happiness comes from God’s joy in your heart. I have had people over the years try to force me to smile. You can’t force joy on someone, you have to give them something to be joyful about and let them show that joy. Retail businesses want their employees to smile because it helps make sales. As a Christian I need to let the love of Jesus show on my face to open doors to share it with others. I finally get it. My face is my calling card, my open door to share.

Proverbs 15:13 “A merry heart makes a cheerful countenance, But by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.” (NKJV)

God’s love in my heart makes it merry. Why shouldn’t my merry heart show on my face? Lord, help me to remember this lesson and show your love to those around me. Join me in sharing your love with those around us this week. Enjoy your week. I’ll be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Smile" (2)

  1. Kathy Cagle said:

    Sharing My Inner Love Externally. I don’t want to forget that one. Thanks for reminding me. So good! And thanks for the loving smiles from the pictures of the generations of your family. What a treat!

    Like

    • Thanks Kathy. I needed pictures of smiles and not smiles, it seemed appropriate to take family pictures. What is neat is how fathers and sons look so much alike when they were babies. Generations of smiles and not smile pictures.

      Like

Leave a Reply

