Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Peace, Be Still


Mark 4:35-41

35 On the same day, when evening had come, He said to them, “Let us cross over to the other side.” 36 Now when they had left the multitude, they took Him along in the boat as He was. And other little boats were also with Him. 37 And a great windstorm arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that it was already filling. 38 But He was in the stern, asleep on a pillow. And they awoke Him and said to Him, “Teacher, do You not care that we are perishing?”
39 Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm. 40 But He said to them, “Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?”[d] 41 And they feared exceedingly, and said to one another, “Who can this be, that even the wind and the sea obey Him!”(NKJV)

Clouds from a planeThis scripture makes me wonder. How often do I stare at the very dark clouds of the gathering storm and allow my faith to slip away? We’ve all seen those tornadoes and thunderstorms that cause us to hide in a safe place until they pass. We endure the storm and then clean up the mess.

But what about circumstantial storms, when life just isn’t going our way. In the middle of one of those storms:

  • It is hard to sleep,
  •  It is hard to think,
  •  It is hard to believe.

Are we to hide? Or are we to stand, face the storm and know that God is with us? Can we rebuke the storm, tell the sea to calm and make it to the other side? Mark 4:35-41 shows us that the disciples didn’t understand yet that they were safe in God’s arms. Jesus had to rebuke the wind and calm the sea because they were afraid of the circumstances. And they still didn’t understand–they just got more afraid of Jesus.

I have learned over the years that there are many things that I cannot control. And daily I practice putting my trust in God’s control of those things. I can’t control people, but I can pray for them. I can’t control the government, but I can pray for those in it. I can’t control much of anything, but I can give it all back to the One who can. It all comes down to trust.  I don’t have the answers to everything, but He does.

Psalm 46:10

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!” (NKJV)

So I guess I will just be still. If I am still in the midst of the storm others will come to know that He is God and He will be exalted among the nations and in the earth. It is worth the effort to calm myself so He can be exalted. Enjoy your week. I’ll be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Peace, Be Still" (6)

  1. This is a great and needed reminder for all of us to continually put our trust in God!!

    Like

  2. As one of my students says frequently – Don’t tell God how big the storm is, tell the storm how big your God is.

    Like

  3. Kathy Cagle said:

    Again, you say it so well. And the best for me, right now God is speaking through these verses to me. You helped me to understand how to apply them when doubt wants to come in.

    And I loved the articlee about the shadow. I was teaching that to my granddaughter who was for the first-time talking about her shadow. Isn’t that fun? I am saving that one also.

    We love you all. Kathy and Paul

    Like

  4. Thank you Jacquie, Marie and Kathy. I write what I live and appreciate feedback.

    Like

  5. […] Peace, Be Still (kittypalmer.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  6. […] Peace, Be Still (kittypalmer.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

