Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Shadow


Human shadow

Image via Wikipedia

Two statements entered my mind and have dominated my thoughts this week:

THE SHADOWS OF MY PAST SHOULD NOT BECOME THE DEFINITION OF MY FUTURE.

I CAN OVERCOME ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST.

Have you ever seen a scary looking shadow? Remember the cartoons where a very small character cast a monstrous shadow. What caused the shadow seemed insignificant when you looked at it. But if you just focused on the shadow you might run in fear.

As I sat and prayed this week I realized that the shadows of my past had defined how I see my future. I define a shadow as the gloom cast by a mistake or bad decision.  From a physical standpoint a shadow shows up when an obstacle blocks light.

Have you ever had something that just haunted you, a mistake you made that just wouldn’t leave you alone? Pondering the gloom around my mistakes and bad decisions has always stopped me from moving forward. It was as if I was staring at one of those monstrous shadows. Countless times I would start down a road but I had been there before and messed up. Could I really go that way again and make it? The answer was always a resounding, NO!

I have decided this week to no longer look at my shadows and allow them to limit my future.  Looking past the shadow to the problem will help me learn and move on. But even focusing on the problem is not a good idea. I will now see my future looking through the eyes of the Lord.

1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” NIV

It is strange how we have trouble forgiving ourselves for our mistakes, but God forgives as soon as we ask. Why can’t we be more like Him? Good question! The answer is “we can” if we allow the Holy Spirit to lead us. The power of the Holy Spirit will allow us to overcome weakness.

If I believe what the Word of God has to say about me:

  • I will not look back at my past and let it define my future.
  • I will look at my future through God’s grace and see hope.

In John 8:12 Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

John 1:5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

Since Jesus had the same Holy Spirit that God has given to all believers we can be the light of the world too. The light in us can shine through the darkness. I write this week to encourage myself and I hope it will encourage you too.

Enjoy your week. I’ll be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Shadow" (2)

  1. Great point! Good words to live by

    Like

Leave a Reply

